TechBlog

A collection of computer fixes gathered in one spot.

Firefox/Windows keeps changing my keyboard layout and messing up my symbols

Problem:

I’ve had this problem for a while and only thought to ask about it now. Just upgraded to Firefox 4, but I’ve had the problem in the past as well. Doesn’t happen all the time but it’s really annoying when it does. To fix it, I simply restart Firefox and it’s fixed. I haven’t been able to link the problem occurence with any sites I visit.

Anyway here`s some examples of what happens when I try to type symbols:

`apostrophe
É question mark
” at symbol
/ number pound sign
? exponent arrow
é forward slash
‘ less than
. greater than
^ open square bracket
¸ close square bracket
< backslash
^ open curly bracket
¨ close curly bracket

It doesn`t seem to be anything to do with the language settings of my keyboard as only Firefox is affected. For example right now I can type question marks in notepad but in Firefox they look like this ÉÉÉÉ

Solution:

Turns out it was a Windows problem, not Firefox (but for some reason it would only change the keyboard for the program that was being used when the sequence was pressed). Went into my Keyboard Language settings and disabled the CTRL SHIFT hotkey that cycles through languages.

Source here

Brought to you by: Your Information Technologies of Kalamazoo, MI. Serving the Comstock, Richland, Portage, and Kalamazoo area’s needs for computer and laptop service and sales.

Leave a comment